Eagle Radio

Eagle Radio


Visit the website to find out more
Visit the website to find out more

Changes to councillors on the Executive - June 2018

2 minute read
Changes to councillors on the Executive - June 2018

Published at 12:47pm 22nd June 2018.

Joining the Council's Executive is Cllr Gordon Jackson, as Lead Councillor for Innovation and Transformation, and Cllr Nigel Manning as Lead Councillor for Finance and Asset Management.

The political Leader of the Council is responsible for appointing lead councillors and determining their areas of responsibility. They can appoint up to nine other councillors to form a Cabinet (known as the Executive), one of whom will be the Deputy Leader. The Leader chairs Executive meetings and leads the Executive in its work to develop the policy framework and budget to deliver services to our local community.

The Executive is now made up of the following councillors:

  • Paul Spooner - Leader of the Council and Lead Councillor for Partnerships, Planning and Regeneration

  • Matt Furniss - Deputy Leader of the Council and Lead Councillor for Infrastructure and Governance

  • David Bilbe - Lead Councillor for Enterprise and Economic Development

  • Philip Brooker - Lead Councillor for Housing and Development Management

  • Geoff Davis - Special Advisor to the Leader and Lead Councillor for Social Enterprise and Voluntary Sector

  • Graham Ellwood - Lead Councillor for Licensing, Environmental Health and Community Safety

  • Gordon Jackson - Lead Councillor for Innovation and Transformation

  • Nigel Manning - Lead Councillor for Finance and Asset Management

  • Nikki Nelson-Smith - Lead Councillor for Skills, Arts and Tourism

  • Iseult Roche - Lead Councillor for Community Health, Wellbeing and Project Aspire

Cllr Michael Illman, former Lead Councillor for Finance and Asset Management, stands down from the Executive. Cllr Richard Billington, former Lead Councillor for Rural Economy, Countryside, Parks and Leisure, stands down as he is now Deputy Mayor.

Cllr Paul Spooner, Leader of the Council says: " I would like to thank Cllr Illman for making way for Cllr Manning to return to his previous role, now that his Mayoral year is over. I would also like to thank Cllr Billington as he moves on to become Deputy Mayor."

For more information on our councillors and their responsibilities, please visit Your Councillors web page. 

Contact Us

If you would like to submit a query or provide more information on this story please get in touch below.

Please wait...
  • Up to 3 JPG or PNG images, 2MB max size
  • We will always endeavour to credit you when we publish your pictures.
  • By uploading you are agreeing to this non-exclusive reuse, royalty-free, across all Eagle Radio platforms, which extends to our partner broadcasters.
  • You retain copyright to all images.
  • If you would like to send us a video, please upload to YouTube or similar and paste the video URL into the message above.
Most read

Fire crews tackle large blaze on Chobham Common

Surrey and Hampshire News: Around five to 10 hectares of undergrowth are alight.

Thunderstorm warning extended to cover three whole days

Surrey and Hampshire News: Surrey and Hampshire could see lightning, hail, strong winds and flooding